11/11/2013 | 3 MINUTE READ

SME Elects 6 Manufacturing Leaders to College of Fellows

Facebook Share Icon LinkedIn Share Icon Twitter Share Icon Share by EMail icon Print Icon

SME has elected six new members to its College of Fellows. They will join the more than 360 other SME members who have been elected since the program’s inception in 1986 and represent various segments of manufacturing.

SME has elected six new members to its College of Fellows. They will join the more than 360 other SME members who have been elected since the program’s inception in 1986 and represent various segments of manufacturing. According to SME, a fellow is a member recognized by his or her peers and the manufacturing community as key contributors to the social, technical and educational progress of manufacturing. This honor can only be earned through 20 or more years of dedication and service to manufacturing.

The 2013 Class of SME fellows includes:

M. Helmi Attia, Ph.D., Manager of Advanced Material Removal Processes, Aerospace Manufacturing, National Research Council Canada

Attia is a professional engineer of Ontario, Canada, and an adjunct professor of mechanical engineering at McGill University. Before joining the NRC in 2002, he was principal research engineer at Ontario Hydro Technologies and manager of fabrication technology at Spar Aerospace Technology Ltd. He received numerous recognitions from ASME and ASTM for being the principal organizer and editor of symposia related to manufacturing and tribology. Attia has authored/coauthored some 180 papers in archival journals and refereed conference proceedings, and more than 100 technical research reports.

Doug Genord, Technical Fellow, The Boeing Co.

Genord has more than 30 years’ experience developing manufacturing and quality systems for fabrication and assembly operations. He supports the development and implementation of Boeing’s advanced manufacturing strategy. Genord is currently chair of SME’s Product & Process Design and Management Community and was a member of the SME Board of Directors in 2005 and 2006. He served on and chaired several SME steering, advisory and organizing committees, including the Diversity in Manufacturing Action Council and Westec.

John W. Gillespie Jr., Ph.D., Director, University of Delaware Center for Composite Materials

Gillespie has served several roles at the center since 1981. He has authored/coauthored more than 650 publications in composites science and technology including 13 book/book chapters, 15 patents, and more than 250 refereed journal papers and 400 proceeding papers. Gillespie is a fellow of the American Society for Composites, recipient of the 2013 American Society for Civil Engineers Charles Pankow Award for Innovation and the first academic recipient of SME’s J.H. “Jud” Hall Composites Manufacturing Award.

Vincent W. Howell Sr., Manager, Information Security and Policy, Corning Inc.

Howell earned a bachelor’s degree in industrial technology (manufacturing) in 1975 from the North Carolina A&T State University, where he was first introduced to SME, and he has been a member for 31 years. During this time, he has served as a chair and officer for Elmira Chapter 24 and Lexington Chapter 154, on the Member Council (chair, Leadership Development Task Group) and on various committees, including the Member Enhancement Committee. Howell has 36 years of international engineering management, project management and engineering experience in the active matrix liquid crystal display glass and electronics manufacturing industries.

Yeau-Ren Jeng, Ph.D., Endowed Chair Professor and Executive Vice President, National Chung Cheng University (Taiwan)

Jeng is currently an endowed chair professor and executive vice president of National Chung Cheng University, founding director of the Advanced Institute for Manufacturing with High-Tech Innovations and a professor of the department of mechanical engineering. His research has provided significant benefits to multiple industries, including the automotive, electronic, manufacturing and nano-related industries. He is the owner of more than 20 patents and is the recipient of numerous awards. Jeng also is the associate editor of several international journals, including the ASME Journal of Tribology and STLE Tribology Transactions.

Prof. Dr. Ir. Bert Lauwers, Professor, KU Leuven (Belgium)

Lauwers has conducted research in KU Leuven’s production engineering, machine design and automation division on manufacturing processes (multi-axis milling, high-speed machining, electrical discharge machining, hybrid processes, machining of advanced materials) and computer support in manufacturing such as CAD/CAM, NC programming, NC simulation and NC post-processing. He is active in several national and international research projects, and has been an SME member for more than 10 years.

SME members are encouraged to nominate members who have made a notable impact in the field of manufacturing. The deadline for nominations for the 2014 class of fellows is December 1, 2013. Selection criteria include leadership in industry, education, research and development, inventions publications and/or service to the profession. Visit sme.org/fellows to download a nomination form.


Thanks for considering a subscription to MoldMaking Technology. We’re sorry to see you go, but if you change your mind, we’d still love to have you as a reader. Just click here.